AdobeStock_99990429.jpeg

We all know that last minute schedule changes happen. It’s not out of the ordinary for a confirmed patient to call the day of their appointment to reschedule. Luckily, you are already a pro at filling openings in the schedule with the help of YAPI.

But there is one very important thing you may not be doing in these situations!

If you have moved a confirmed appointment to another day or time, the appointment status will not be changed automatically in Dentrix. You have to remember to change the appointment status manually. Otherwise, this new appointment will still show as “confirmed” and no additional confirmation emails or messages will be sent to your patient and they will not get a reminder for their new appointment time.

As you know, YAPI does not send confirmation messages to patients that have already confirmed an appointment. We don’t want to waste their time with unnecessary messages if they have already let us know they will attend.

It is imperative to change the confirmation status back to “none” in Dentrix so that they continue to receive reminders.

Statistically, these patients that have confirmed and then rescheduled already have a higher risk of cancellation. Do not further increase this risk by unintentionally stopping their appointment reminders!

Just remember to perform this quick fix whenever you reschedule a patient and they will receive their scheduled appointment reminders.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s